Preface

The International Workshop on FPGAs for Software Programmers (FSP) now enters its third year. As the workshop has traditionally been held co-located with the International Conference on Field-Programmable Logic and Applications (FPL), it has moved to Lausanne for 2016. For the first time, FSP publishes its results in IEEE Xplore-indexed proceedings, marking a major increase in visibility over prior events. This step was enabled by the kind sponsorship of PLDA.

However, the key focus of FSP remains on looking at key aspects of using FPGA-based reconfigurable computing from a **software developer's** perspective. Contributions include not only the presentation of solutions, but also studies on the precise nature of the difficulties to guide further research. Furthermore, FSP is keen to maintain its **workshop** nature: It remains a venue for presenting not just mature research, but also exposing promising work-in-progress or prototype reports to a wider community for inspiring scientific discourse.

In this spirit, based on recommendations by the Program Committee, the FSP Chairs selected from the 11 submissions (coming from seven countries) six to be presented as full-papers, and one as a short paper. These cover a wide range of topics, ranging from tools and design methodology to a fundamental examination of the lack of a middleware ecosystem for reconfigurable computing. The Chairs would like to thank the Program Committee for their timely reviews, enabling us to aim for three reviews to base our decisions on.

Presented at the workshop itself were two keynotes (one from industry, one from academia), as well as an embedded tutorial on the Pynq open-source hardware design framework.

We hope you find these presentations interesting and look forward to receiving your own submission to future FSP events!

FSP 2016 Co-Chairs

Andreas Koch	TU Darmstadt
Markus Weinhardt	Osnabrueck University of Applied Sciences

FSP 2016 Proceedings Chair

Christian Hochberger TU Darmstadt

FSP 2016 Program Committee

Jason AndersonUniversity of TorontoTobias BeckerMaxeler TechnologiesJoao CardosoFEUP/Universidade do PortoSunita ChandrasekaranUniversity of DelawareFrank HannigFriedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-NürnbergDirk KochUniversity of ManchesterMiriam LeeserNortheastern Univ.Gael PaulLDAMarco PlatznerUniversity of PaderbornChristian PlesslUniversity of Paderborn	Hideharu Amano	Keio University
Joao CardosoFEUP/Universidade do PortoSunita ChandrasekaranUniversity of DelawareFrank HannigFriedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-NürnbergDirk KochUniversity of ManchesterMiriam LeeserNortheastern Univ.Gael PaulPLDAMarco PlatznerUniversity of Paderborn	Jason Anderson	University of Toronto
Sunita ChandrasekaranUniversity of DelawareFrank HannigFriedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-NürnbergDirk KochUniversity of ManchesterMiriam LeeserNortheastern Univ.Gael PaulPLDAMarco PlatznerUniversity of Paderborn	Tobias Becker	Maxeler Technologies
Frank HannigFriedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-NürnbergDirk KochUniversity of ManchesterMiriam LeeserNortheastern Univ.Gael PaulPLDAMarco PlatznerUniversity of Paderborn	Joao Cardoso	FEUP/Universidade do Porto
Dirk KochUniversity of ManchesterMiriam LeeserNortheastern Univ.Gael PaulPLDAMarco PlatznerUniversity of Paderborn	Sunita Chandrasekaran	University of Delaware
Miriam LeeserNortheastern Univ.Gael PaulPLDAMarco PlatznerUniversity of Paderborn	Frank Hannig	Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg
Gael PaulPLDAMarco PlatznerUniversity of Paderborn	Dirk Koch	University of Manchester
Marco Platzner University of Paderborn	Miriam Leeser	Northeastern Univ.
-	Gael Paul	PLDA
Christian Plessl University of Paderborn	Marco Platzner	University of Paderborn
	Christian Plessl	University of Paderborn
Daniel Poznanovic Cray Inc.	Daniel Poznanovic	Cray Inc.
Gustavo Sutter Universidad Autonoma de Madrid	Gustavo Sutter	Universidad Autonoma de Madrid
Peter Yiannacouras Altera	Peter Yiannacouras	Altera
Daniel Ziener Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU)	Daniel Ziener	Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU)