Preface

Like the first three editions, the Fourth International Workshop on FPGAs for Software Programmers (FSP) is colocated with the International Conference on Field-Programmable Logic and Applications (FPL). Therefore, it has moved to Ghent for 2017. As successfully started last year, FSP continues the publication of its results in IEEE Xplore-indexed proceedings for better visibility. This already led to an increased number of 14 submissions (from ten countries) and significantly more advance registrations. This year's proceedings were enabled by the kind sponsorship of Topic Embedded Products.

As before, the key focus of FSP 2017 remains on looking at key aspects of using FPGA-based reconfigurable computing from a **software developer's** perspective. Contributions include not only the presentation of solutions, but also studies on the precise nature of the difficulties to guide further research. Furthermore, FSP is keen to maintain its **workshop** nature: It remains a venue for presenting not just mature research, but also exposing promising work-in-progress or prototype reports to a wider community for inspiring scientific discourse.

In this spirit, based on recommendations by the Program Committee, the FSP Chairs selected seven submissions (50 %) to be presented as full papers, and three (21 %) as short papers. These cover a wide range of topics, ranging from analysis and transformation tools to applications and IP libraries for High-Level Synthesis. The Chairs would like to thank the Program Committee for their timely reviews, enabling us to base our decisions on three reviews per submission.

Presented at the workshop itself were two keynotes (one from industry, one from academia), as well as three regular paper sessions.

We hope you find these presentations interesting and look forward to receiving your own submission to future FSP events!

FSP 2017 Co-Chairs

Andreas Koch TU Darmstadt

Markus Weinhardt Osnabrueck University of Applied Sciences

FSP 2017 Proceedings Chair

Christian Hochberger TU Darmstadt

FSP 2017 Program Committee

Hideharu Amano Keio University
Jason Anderson University of Toronto
Tobias Becker Maxeler Technologies

Joao Cardoso FEUP/Universidade do Porto Sunita Chandrasekaran University of Delaware Paul Chow University of Toronto

Frank Hannig Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg

Tobias Kenter University of Paderborn
Dirk Koch University of Manchester
Miriam Leeser Northeastern University

Janarbek Matai University of California San Diego

Gael Paul PLDA

Marco Platzner University of Paderborn

Daniel Poznanovic Cray Inc.

Gustavo Sutter Universidad Autonoma de Madrid

Zain Ul-Abdin Halmstad University

Rüdiger Willenberg Mannheim University of Applied Sciences

Peter Yiannacouras Altera Corp.

Daniel Ziener Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg