## **Preface**

Like the first four editions, the Fifth International Workshop on FPGAs for Software Programmers (FSP) is co-located with the International Conference on Field-Programmable Logic and Applications (FPL). Therefore, it has moved to Dublin for 2018. As in previous years, FSP continues the publication of its results in IEEE Xplore-indexed proceedings for better visibility. This led to an increased number of 18 submissions (from ten countries). This year's proceedings were enabled by the kind sponsorship of Xelera Technologies GmbH.

As before, the key focus of FSP 2018 remains on looking at key aspects of using FPGA-based reconfigurable computing from a **software developer's** perspective. Contributions include not only the presentation of solutions, but also studies on the precise nature of the difficulties to guide further research. Furthermore, FSP is keen to maintain its **workshop** nature: It remains a venue for presenting not just mature research, but also exposing promising work-in-progress or prototype reports to a wider community for inspiring scientific discourse.

In this spirit, based on recommendations by the Program Committee, the FSP Chairs selected six submissions (33 %) to be presented as full papers, and three (17 %) as posters. These cover a wide range of topics, ranging from analysis and transformation tools to applications and frameworks for High-Level Synthesis. The Chairs would like to thank the Program Committee for their timely reviews, enabling us to base our decisions on at least three reviews per submission.

Presented at the workshop itself were two keynotes from industry, as well as three regular paper sessions and a poster session.

We hope you find these presentations interesting and look forward to receiving your own submission to future FSP events!

## FSP 2018 Co-Chairs

Andreas Koch TU Darmstadt

Markus Weinhardt Osnabrueck University of Applied Sciences

## FSP 2018 Proceedings Chair

Christian Hochberger TU Darmstadt

## **FSP 2018 Program Committee**

Hideharu Amano Keio University
Jason Anderson University of Toronto

Joao Cardoso FEUP/Universidade do Porto Sunita Chandrasekaran University of Delaware Paul Chow University of Toronto

Frank Hannig Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg

Tobias Kenter University of Paderborn
Dirk Koch University of Manchester
Miriam Leeser Northeastern University

Janarbek Matai University of California San Diego

Gael Paul PLDA

Marco Platzner University of Paderborn

Daniel Poznanovic Cray Inc.

Gustavo Sutter Universidad Autonoma de Madrid

Zain Ul-Abdin Halmstad University

Rüdiger Willenberg Mannheim University of Applied Sciences

Daniel Ziener Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg